top of page

Things I wish I could see | My Birthday Month Thread Week #1


Alyssa Standing in front of her garage smiling. She's wearing black leggings and a fuzzy beige  sweater.
Happy Birthday Month to me ❤️

It's officially October, which means it's my birthday month. Yes, I know it's a little selfish of me to claim a month to myself for my birthday but, if it makes me feel better about getting older- let me live it fully. Haha.

So, in honor of this month I'm going to be making a blog post once a week (every Monday) talking about things I just want to address and discuss. On October 25, the big 21, I will do a recap blog post about my birthday and how I got to enjoy another year of life. Thank you all so much for following me along and always keeping my spirits up! I love you guys, seriously. 💓


Things I wish I could see...

 

People's eyes, including mine

The lack of detail in my vision prohibits me to see many things and I just wish I could sharply gaze into someones eyes (especially Joel's) and just see the true colors and textures within the iris. For mine, I've been told my eyes tend to shift from color to color. One second they may have a dark blue outer ring followed by a green center. And on the other hand people will stop me and inform me they've changed to a yellow hazel.


Anything in nature

A squirrel, a bird, a wild berry on a tree, or maybe even a dang rainbow.

Someone who knows me may be like, "but Alyssa you've identified a squirrel in front of me before". Well gimme a minute to explain. Small things like squirrels and birds I can identify from their basic shape and body movement. It's hard to explain but a dark object in the sky that moves swiftly in the air is more likely to be a bird in my rationality than a cow. Right? Maybe? So yes, I would love to see a blue jay, a cardinal, a bunny, or any other cool form of nature.


I'm sorry, but my nails

OKay not trying to start a thread about feet or hands but this visually impaired girl would love to see her nails, toes and fingers included. Do you know how much money I have spent on getting my nails done? I'm not complaining, no one is telling me to get them done and I know it's not a human need, but I prefer to have my nails all done up. It''s super difficult for me to see them in order to do them myself and if I had better vision I would definitely be doing my own. Do you know how many times people have told me my nails are chipping or ask me what color my nails are specifically? Oh and let me not mention how many times I've tried to choose a shellac color from a book of samples and it's not exactly the color I wanted. (Sucks it up and cries over nails after appointment). Call me a sissy but blind girl doesn't play when it comes to those detailed things.


Point of view image  Alyssa's arm held out with bracelets and her watch looking at her disappointing nails.
Blind girls view


My phone, for selfies

I love pictures, a lot. I love the idea of capturing moments to have forever and ever but what I hate is taking pictures and more specifically selfies. There are so many occasions where I go to capture a moment with myself or someone else and as soon as I pull my phone out, turn the camera, and say "cheese" I totally miss the camera button. What happens next? I completely ruin the moment. Yay me.


The wall plug in

If a wall plug in isn't in my line of sight when I hav to plug something in, uhh- complete disaster. I'm either electrocuting myself, scratching the wall with the prongs, or bending them. So yeah, it's difficult when the blind girl is cooking and cleaning and can't find the one source that operates my tools. Darn.


My stuff, I lose way too often

I know others will lose their phone while they're talking on, look for keys in their hand, or lose things in plain sight, but I feel like it's 10x worse for me. Trust me, I'm not bragging because it sucks and agitates the frick out of me. I have wasted precious time looking for something just because I can't see. Colors tend to mush together and create blobs of things and when someone assures me that what I'm looking for is right in front of me I counter them in disbelief. They're usually right.


Sports

I do believe I don't have to see a sport to enjoy it, but a good play and just a visual sense of awareness would make the puzzle of a game more complete. When I watch a sport from my couch (Jk I'm standing in front of the TV) or attending a sporting event in the crowd, I rely off of two things: commentary and the body language of those around me. I don't know what players actually look like in fact, the look like little ants just running around. Maybe I'll invest in a pair of binoculars.


Husker balloon and ticket being held at memorial stadium from the fence of the sideline.
Husker fans for life

Stay tuned for next weeks post! Love you guys! Thank you for supporting!



-Alyssa Irene 💓


69 views0 comments
bottom of page