top of page

Hair care brand rolls out tactile bottles of shampoo and conditioners | GIVEAWAY ANNOUNCEMENT |


Alyssa holding up a Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner from its botanical line
Welcome to the blind and visually I'm[aired community Herbal Essence ❤️

HELLO HERBAL ESSENCE

Yep, you read that title right! A hair care brand has changed the game of differentiating products for the blind or visually impaired community and I couldn't feel more empowered!


Herbal Essence began the journey of accessible bottles last year thanks to inclusive designer Sam Latif. What's even more inclusive is Latif just so happens to be apart of the blind/visually impaired population and her goal to ease confusion in the shower has been cured. Herbal Essence has kept this tactile concept simple yet affective for its botanical line of shampoos and conditioners. The tactile indentations are found on the back side of the bottle towards the very bottom. For identifying shampoo there are 4 vertical lines (or stripes) S indicating shampoo. As for conditioner there are two rows with 4 indented circles in each row, C as in conditioner.


Applying this simple adjustment to packaging is an important step in the right direction for the bind and visually impaired community.


A more permanent fix

Let's face it, since losing my vision I have relied on the old elastic trick for identifying my shower products. Have I been desperate for a hair tie and stripped my shampoo from its identification tool? Well yes, that's why I have mistakenly washed my hair with conditioner before realizing mid scrub -I wasn't using shampoo.


My daily non tactile shampoo with a hair elastic around the base for identification.
My blind girl quick fix tool

What's next?

As of January 2020, Herbal Essence plans to expand their tactile packaging to more than just their botanical line, it will serve as a true milestone of growth. This kind of change and inclusivity is what keeps me hopeful that one day all brands will reach a point where they are accessible for all. This means reaching far beyond just our shower products but home products as well.

Alyssa holding a conditioner focusing on the circles on the back of the packaging
Circles for conditioner

GIVEAWAY ANNOUCEMENT


To share my excitement about this small step in making the world more accessible, I want to share these accessible products and more goodies with my viewers, followers, and readers! ❤️




HOW TO ENTER:


1. FOLLOW me on Instagram @aly_if


2. LIKE the giveaway post on my instagram (Posted 10/14/2019 @ 7PM CST)


3. COMMENT on the giveaway post on my Instagram


4. THAT'S IT! Be sure to stop at your local drugstore or anywhere Herbal Essence is sold and have a feel for yourself at this accessible packaging! #giveaway



⭐️GIVEAWAY WINNER WILL BE ANNOUNCED 10/25/2019 at 7PM CST ON MY INSTAGRAM STORIES⭐️



-Alyssa Irene ❤️


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page