top of page

A Blind Girls "Hello Fall" Tribute



Alyssa standing with a box of donuts in front of the Arbor Lodge Mansion

I may be just a little biased being that I am a scorpio and an October baby, but there's no denying that fall is my FAVORITE season. I know not everyone has the privilege to experience all four seasons (and where I live sometimes all four in one week), but I got nothing but love for my girl Autumn. The weather, the decor, and overall nostalgia of fall has me in a spiritual awe and your visually impaired girl here loves it for more than what's trendy.


A felt letter board in Bath and body works that says I love fall most of all

Hello fall candles and smells

My heightened sense of smell works in my favor around this time of year. Pumpkin, spice, and everything nice are the scents I can't complain about. One particular scent that brings back so may good memories is Bath and Body Works, Marshmallow Fireside candle. Joel got me four mini candles in this particular scent for my 15th birthday. I am a candle lover at heart. I don't think there is anything more cozy and mood setting than a lit flame (Use with caution of course). Now, here we are later at almost 21 years old and I still can't help but be reminded of every October prior we've burned that candle. We're due to light up our new batch October 1st.


Fall decor on my TV stand. One orange pumpkin, a black and white plaid pumpkin, and a dish of candy corn

Fall Decor and New Textures

This year is more exciting as far as fall decor goes, because the amount of textures and patterns I have seen and felt is what I'm obsessing over. If you haven't made your weekly trip to Target to go check out the new arrivals for the season, I'm so sorry. Please, go. This year I am loving the checkered flannel patterns especially with the incorporated feeling of fleece. Everything soft and cozy is a big attraction for me especially when it comes to decor.


Point of view image looking down at my purple nails on my porch with greenery

Fall Style: Apparel and Nails

Yes, I still love to style my clothes and coordinate my nails for this transitioning season despite my low vision, but I'm not the only one.

Incorporating fall colors back into my wardrobe is my favorite way to really get into the spirit of the season.

Color Choices:

  • Browns

  • Burnt Organges

  • Mustards

  • Burgundies

  • Olive greens

  • Plums

Have staple pieces: black shirts, pants, boots, and tee's.Then layer onto with colorful flannels, cardigans, and jewelry. (Gold is my go to in fall).

As far as my nails go, I can't paint them anymore, but I love shooting for cool toned purples, blacks, oranges, and the occasional off white shellac polish.

Forever 21, Target, H&M, and Old Navy have some great assortment s of leopard print, fennel, colors, and statement pieces.


Point of view shot of my basket shopping at the Apple Jack festival.

Food and Flavors

I'm sure every blogger and fall lover has already gotten a tase of the their signature pumpkin spice latte, but I have a hankering for more than just pumpkin this fall season. Tis the season for some good ole' comfort food and let's not forget, crockpot season. This is probably the time of year I put my crockpot to use the most and enjoy the simpler meals in life. Roast and veggies, homemade chicken noodle, stews, and on special occasion, our favorite smokey meats.



My living room. Grey sectional, yellow accents, and a rustic feel with decor

My Comfort Place - My Home

My home is my comfort place. I get so giddy and excited when I can crack the windows open at about 60 degrees, but I know my dogs get to enjoy that more than myself, especially with the mumbled "woof's" & "oof's" seeing a squirrel in the tree. Saturday is the appointed day our TV is dedicated to ESPN. The kitchen is where snacks await during commercial breaks and are ready for consumption as you run back to the living room, mouth half full just in time for the start of a play. We blast our television for the sake of excitement as I pick and choose the best and worst commentators. I stand 4 inches away from that TV to experience our favorite sport of the season and to make memories with my little family.


Blindness means nothing to me when I can see through different senses, happy fall! ❤️

-Alyssa Irene


19 views0 comments
bottom of page