top of page

Beginner DIY Project | The blind amateur | Alyssa Irene


Let's clear the air on this whole DIY and how easy being crafty can be. First of all, I am not super crafty, I'd like to think that I am but um, no.

I know there is a belief that crafting can be so easy and seem-less, I suppose that can be true (only in this particular experience it was for me), but that doesn't mean I'm going to go out and restore every piece of furniture I see.

This was my first ever attempt at redoing a piece of furniture and let me just say, I was surprised at how well it turned out and how proud d of myself I was (high fives self).

I don't have a lot of time and as a matter of fact, I wanted to redo this potential gem for quite some time now, but I thought it would consist of too much time and unnecessary extra steps. Which is the very reason it took me a year to finally look at this piece and go "she needs to compliment the rest of my living room".


So follow my EASY and straight to the point steps that I took to add life to this entry way piece.

















1. I emptied out the piece, cleaned off any surface residue, and started sanding the whole dang thing so my paint would adhere better.


2. My living room is pretty neutral so I chose more of an off white cream color. I chose RUST-OLEUM 2X SATIN HEIRLOOM WHITE


3. I painted the piece with a total of 3 coats waiting about an hour in between each coat. I then let it dry for 24 hours.


4. Next I changed the hardware from a wooden red toned knobs to dark rustic ones. (I am no expert btw). I like the dark knobs and how they stood out against the paint, simple and easy - just how I like it.


5. Lastly, I returned all my junk to its rightful place and added my essential items that I grab for when heading out the door, keys, sunglasses, and a little body refresher.


I am not a professional in this area, I am very content being an amateur but this needed to happen. On the plus side it wasn't a complete fail.


Let me know if you guys have had any DIY flips/flops.

-Alyssa Irene xx

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page